Aero problems with Parallels 5

Discussion in 'Windows Guest OS Discussion' started by JordiL, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. Alex M

    Alex M

    Messages:
    4
    Also having trouble with Aero

    I'm constantly having to re-enable it which is very frustrating considering the whole reason I bought Parallels 5 was to support Aero on Windows 7.

    My specs are as follows:

    10.6.2
    Macbook Pro 15"
    3.06 Ghz
    8GB Ram
    9400 is the graphics card I enable.

    Parallels VM Bootcamp Windows 7 64bit
    I run it Windowed most of the time and I give the VM 3GB of ram.
     
  2. BJG

    BJG

    Messages:
    4
    I am running 2 processors. I increased the RAM allocation to 1.5GB from 1GB and the problem seems to have gone away (at least for now)
     
  3. Bill Baxter

    Bill Baxter

    Messages:
    2
    Single CPU workaround works for me

    I have been having the same problem as the others listed here on a new Macbook Pro 13". Here are the details:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.53 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP55.00AC.B03

    It has a 256 GB SSD. I was surprised to see the display issue and the performance test would not complete. I did not have a screen saver installed. I set the # CPUs to 1 and both issues were resolved.
     
  4. teo

    teo

    Messages:
    2
    I removed one of the VM CPUs and until now the problems seems to have disappeared!
    Another strange thing is that the performance using one CPU feels the same!

    Hope some updated build will come out soon

    By the way my VM is configured with 2,75GB of RAM and 128 MB video.
     
  5. Bob Trailer

    Bob Trailer

    Messages:
    1
    Yep, I get the same problem
    Looking for solution now.
     
  6. FredY

    FredY

    Messages:
    8
    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 3.2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Total Number Of Cores: 8
    L2 Cache (per processor): 12 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.6 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MP31.006C.B05
    SMC Version (system): 1.25f4
    Serial Number (system): G88063CNXYL
    Hardware UUID: 12ABAC55-023B-5498-A2A5-5D7C29128CEE
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 512 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0611
    Revision ID: 0x00a2
    ROM Revision: 3233
    Displays:
    Cinema HD:
    Resolution: 2048 x 1280
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Cinema:
    Resolution: 1680 x 1050
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Happens to me in 32 or 64 bit.
     
  7. FredY

    FredY

    Messages:
    8
    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 3.2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Total Number Of Cores: 8
    L2 Cache (per processor): 12 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.6 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MP31.006C.B05
    SMC Version (system): 1.25f4
    Serial Number (system): G88063CNXYL
    Hardware UUID: 12ABAC55-023B-5498-A2A5-5D7C29128CEE
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 512 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0611
    Revision ID: 0x00a2
    ROM Revision: 3233
    Displays:
    Cinema HD:
    Resolution: 2048 x 1280
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Cinema:
    Resolution: 1680 x 1050
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Happens to me in 32 or 64 bit.
     
  8. moas

    moas Bit Poster

    Messages:
    18
    Ditto...

    Running 2 processors.

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.53 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP55.00AC.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.47f2
    Serial Number (system): W89373EG66E
    Hardware UUID: C80818AE-C833-586B-AA0F-0244FBDF0A04
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCI
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0863
    Revision ID: 0x00b1
    ROM Revision: 3427
    Displays:
    Color LCD:
    Resolution: 1280 x 800
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Built-In: Yes
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected
     
  9. JordiL

    JordiL

    Messages:
    5
    Yes, it works ! With just 1 cpu seems it works without problems ... So, it has to be something parallels team could fix easily... I have decided to purchase the product since at least with 1 cpu it works very fluent and it is worthy.
     
  10. Gandalf60

    Gandalf60

    Messages:
    1
    Requested system info

    Same issue - on two macbook pro's - one 15 and one 13. Here is the info for the 13:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M

    I'll post the info for the 15 separately. (It's at the office.)
     
  11. James Beaumont

    James Beaumont

    Messages:
    14
    Same problem. 27" Core i7 iMac running 64-bit Windows 7 4GB RAM
     
  12. jimgeldermann

    jimgeldermann Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Happens only in full screen mode when resolution of windows is set to the same as the Mac. Am running XP.

    Set to 1024x768 75 Hz

    Model Name: Mac mini
    Model Identifier: Macmini2,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 1.83 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 2 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MM21.009A.B00
    SMC Version (system): 1.19f2

    Intel GMA 950:

    Chipset Model: GMA 950
    Type: GPU
    Bus: Built-In
    VRAM (Total): 64 MB of Shared System Memory
    Vendor: Intel (0x8086)
    Device ID: 0x27a2
    Revision ID: 0x0003
    Displays:
    LT765S:
    Resolution: 1024 x 768 @ 75 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
     
  13. BeaMeUp

    BeaMeUp

    Messages:
    3
    My problem is slightly different. I get a small rectangular black box that flashes off and on while in Full Screen mode using Win 7 or Ubuntu 9.1. I've played with all types of settings in Parallels and the guest OS, no difference.

    My Specs

    Hardware Overview:
    Hardware

    Model Name: Mac mini
    Model Identifier: Macmini2,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 1.83 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 2 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MM21.009A.B00
    SMC Version (system): 1.19f0

    Hardware/Memory
    Memory Slots:

    ECC: Disabled

    BANK 0/DIMM0:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: 667 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x7F7F7F7F7FF70000
    Part Number: 0x00004B363432385535324535363637460000
    Serial Number: 0x00000000

    BANK 1/DIMM1:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: 667 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x7F7F7F7F7FF70000
    Part Number: 0x00004B363432385535324535363637460000
    Serial Number: 0x00000000



    Graphics/Display

    Intel GMA 950:

    Chipset Model: GMA 950
    Type: GPU
    Bus: Built-In
    VRAM (Total): 64 MB of Shared System Memory
    Vendor: Intel (0x8086)
    Device ID: 0x27a2
    Revision ID: 0x0003

    Displays:
    Acer P201W:
    Resolution: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
     
  14. jimgeldermann

    jimgeldermann Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Screen Resolution Conflict

    Got the problem in full screen mode when the monitor resolution of the Mac and VM were the same. Did not get the problem if resolutions were same and not in full screen and did not get the problem in full screen and the resolutions were not the same.
     
  15. Hojo

    Hojo

    Messages:
    3
    Windows Desktop Manager Quits

    Add me to the growing list. Similar problem with Vista Business and Aero. Screen flashes black and then I get a dialog box that says "Windows Desktop Manager has quit." My options are to Search for a solution or Close.

    I'm experiencing this on both my MacPro and MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard and Parallels Desktop v5.

    Here's the info for the MacPro:

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.93 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
    SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5

    ATI Radeon HD 4870:

    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 4870
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 512 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x9440
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-B7710F-176
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.318
    Displays:
    LED Cinema Display:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Connection Type: DisplayPort
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected
     
  16. JacobM

    JacobM Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Add me to the list as well. So far I've only encountered this problem when Visual Studio 2010 Beta 2 is running.

    My specs:
    MBP 13" 2009:
    C2D 2.26GHz
    4GB ram,
    Intel X25-M G2 80GB

    Settings in Parallels:
    2 cores utilized
    2GB RAM
    256MB GPU RAM


    I had the same problem when I used the latest version of VMware Fusion.

    I'm gonna change to 1 core now and see if the problem disappears.
     
  17. FredY

    FredY

    Messages:
    8
    The solution that I was given was to reset the number of processors to one, it seems to work. But there must be an update on the way, hopefully.
     
  18. JacobM

    JacobM Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Yeah it worked for me too. One core feels kinda 90's though :(
     
  19. txrpls

    txrpls

    Messages:
    22
    Same Problem

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.93 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP52.008E.B00
    SMC Version (system): 1.42f4
    Serial Number (system): W89111WR2QT
    Hardware UUID: 38D69A85-195E-50C3-BA32-6532F921A670
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled
     
  20. serv

    serv Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    780
    Thanks to everyone! We've finally isolated the cause. The fix will be included in PD5 update. Sorry, but no dates yet.
     

Share This Page