Parallels Desktop for Mac computers with Apple M2 chips

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop on a Mac with Apple silicon' started by Mikhail Ushakov, Jun 8, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Tony F.

Tony F. Bit poster

Hello, I could use some help - please excuse my ignorance around Parallels/Virtualization with the new M-class Chips - here's my question/situation:

I currently have a 2017 Macbook Pro Intel Quad-Core i7. I have a Parallels subscription and I'm running Windows 10 on it because there is some software I need to use that is PC only. Unfortunately for me, my Macbook Pro is dying (boo) and I've decided to purchase the new M2 Macbook Air (yay). I understand the premise that the M2 Arm architecture is different than Intel and I understand that I can install Parallels on the new M2 Macbook Air - but... is it possible for me to just take my Parallels VM Windows File from my old computer, move it over to the M2 and just run it so that the VM OS, and all of it's installed software that I have in it and need, just runs? Or do I have to install a new Windows version on the M2 and re-install all of the software again? It would be so convenient if I could just run the VM file I have on my old Macbook on the new one I'm purchasing. Probably not that easy right? Sorry for being a noob around this.

And direction would be appreciated. - Tony

2. Soarsz

Soarsz Junior Member

sorry, it was armx64

mwhalenhtc likes this.
  3. Tony F.

Tony F. Bit poster

help

4. ParallelsU966

ParallelsU966 Bit poster

Hi.
    I am setting up windows 11 on my macbook air M2 2022 that I recently bought. When i set up the the virtual machine, i go through the steps, but i stop at the internet step. It will not show me any internet options.
    [​IMG]
    I have tried telegram support, and I have gone through some of the kb.

Attached Files:

5. NoahG2

NoahG2 Bit poster

Cross posted from another part of the Parallels forum: